top of page

Nice Is As Nice Does

Being Nice is Good for you!!

Living in a resort community, I usually find that most people are in good moods, I mean, why wouldn’t we be. We don’t deal with a lot of traffic, (and no, Hailey to Ketchum does not constitute traffic) we are surrounded by beauty and have an abundant of activities to choose from. Fresh air, clean living, fantastic restaurants, and good looking people. I mean, why wouldn’t we be happy. But alas…we aren’t always. We have our bad moods and days, it’s life after all, and it’s not perfect.

For me, I know I’m blessed in my life, but that doesn’t mean I’m always in a good mood, but I do make a conscious effort to stay positive, smile, and be kind to others. A good attitude can go a long way, a smile can go ever farther, and being nice can actually be good for your health!

According to Dr. David R. Hamilton, acts of kindness create an emotional warmth, which releases a hormone known as oxytocin. Oxytocin causes the release of a chemical called nitric oxide, which dilates the blood vessels. This reduces blood pressure and, therefore, oxytocin is known as a "cardioprotective" hormone. It protects the heart by lowering blood pressure.

I travel a lot for work, and while I actually embrace the busy airports and even the rude people, (I have to in order to stay sane) I find the only way to handle these people and not go bonkers is to be nice…and hope it comes back and changes the situation. I find most of the time this works very well. Thus…’Nice is as Nice does’ was born.

So go ahead and smile, look people in the eyes, say please and thank you, it’s good for you, and you may just make someone’s day.

Laughter is the best medicine after all or so the saying goes.

kindness_edited.jpg

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page