top of page

The Ski Sock Phenomenon

How often do you wash?

As I was putting on my ski boots in River Run Ski Lodge, as I have done so many times in the past, I reached in my bag for my ski socks. I pulled out a pair and examined the toes to figure out which way they were worn last so I could put them on the same way. Yes, I said last. And yes, that means I had worn them before…the day before, and even perhaps the day before that.

Now I realize that if you’re not a skier or snowboarder you might be thinking buy this girl a washing machine! But for us folks who are lucky enough to call the mountain home in the winter, this phenomenon of putting on dirty ski socks is not so unusual, at least I was wanting that to be the case. So out of curiosity, and perhaps sheer embarrassment, I started asking around hoping that I was the norm and not the exception to this spectacle.

My chair lift rides became my investigative office, and I found out that in fact I was the norm in getting the most out of my ski sock usage. The results of my informal polling were in and most folks I talked with wash their socks on average about every 3 days. That’s every 3 times they use them mind you. Some, and I promised to keep them anonymous, even admitted that it’s much longer than that. Some go weeks, yes weeks, without a clean pair of ski socks. There were the few, and I stress few, who were not impressed with my question and admitted that they have shiny clean socks every time they skied. Good for them and perhaps their washing skills might rub off on me.

After I tabulated the results, I then started asking why. Why is this phenomenon taking place? Why don’t we simply wash our ski socks more often? A few folks stated ‘the price of ski socks is more expensive than regular socks, so we don’t have as many pair.’ I might buy that one. Others stated that ‘their feet don’t sweat in ski boots.’ I’m not sure about that, as boot driers are still a big seller in ski shops. A few ex-racers stated it’s all about superstition – ‘you don’t change your socks when you’re on a roll.’ Although most of these folks were not racing anymore, I found it a formidable excuse. There were also the ‘my feet don’t smell’ excuse, and a few ‘I forget to wash them’ defense. All good excuses to those of us stuck in the ski sock rut.

A solution to this problem? The moral to the story? And do we even consider this a problem? I’m not sure. Perhaps we should purchase a few more pair of ski socks or increase our weekly washing cycle. Or maybe we should consider this subject simply a strange phenomenon – ‘an observable occurrence’ thanks to my online dictionary, and simply hope for the best. Because it’s really about enjoying our wonderful mountain and the good times and friends that go with it. Cheers to all and enjoy the slopes…whatever your socks might tell you.

DSCN2427.JPG


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page